BOYS SOCCER: Manteno, Herscher, Peotone crowd ICE All-Conference team

Peotone High School’s Nathan Rivera, left, moves the ball past Herscher High School’s Logan Lunsford during a game in Peotone earlier this season. Both players were named to the Illinois Central Eight All-Conference team.

Daily Journal Staff Report

Eight of the 10 members from the old Interstate Eight Conference formed the Illinois Central Eight Conference prior to the start of the school year, and even though the conference name changed, the same crowd of soccer teams once again reigned supreme.

Top-of-the-conference mainstays Manteno, Herscher and Peotone combined to earn 16 of the conference’s 28 all-conference selections.

The Panthers had a six-pack of selections, the most of any school in the conference. Seniors A.J. Gilliam and Cody Mather, juniors Alec Miller and Ion Barrio and sophomores Drew St. Aubin and Scott Eldrige all received the highest conference honors.

Herscher, the area’s furthest-advancing team this year, falling in sectional championship action, and saw five players given all-conference nods — seniors Caleb Fleischauer and Jack Holohan and juniors Bascom Jackson, Logan Lunsford and Evan Brown.

Peotone has strung together a few years of sustained success and also had five honorees — seniors Bart Budz, Nathan Rivera and Gage Velasquez and juniors German Lopez and Darragh Jeffrey.

Coal City had a trio of players selected in senior Collin Meece, junior Bobby Milne and sophomore Alex Baudino make the squad. Reed-Custer’s Hunter O’Connor and Wilmington’s Eric Ostheim were also named to the team.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please be civil. Don't threaten others. Don't make obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist, sexist or otherwise demeaning statements. Be respectful of others even if you disagree with them.
Please be truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Please be proactive. Report abusive posts.
Please share updates or more information. We value your input and opinion.