Thursday, December 05, 2019

Tell us what you know

We're always interested in hearing about news and other events in our community.

Saturday, November 30, 2019
Friday, November 29, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019

SPRINGFIELD — The adjournment of the fall veto session Thursday night means a number of bills that failed to pass both chambers this week must wait for further action when the General Assembly returns on Jan. 28. Read more

Saturday, November 16, 2019
Friday, November 08, 2019

SPRINGFIELD — A group that advocates for public education in Illinois released a report indicating the state has made some progress in improving educational outcomes over the past five years, but it still has a long way to go to achieve the goal of having 60 percent of all adults attaining s… Read more

Monday, October 28, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Saturday, October 19, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Saturday, October 12, 2019

SPRINGFIELD — A task force Democratic Gov. J.B. Pritzker formed in February is recommending the state consolidate 649 suburban and downstate police and firefighter pension funds into just two, saying the move would generate billions of dollars in additional earnings over the next 20 years wh… Read more

Thursday, October 10, 2019
Tuesday, October 08, 2019
Monday, October 07, 2019
Friday, October 04, 2019
Wednesday, October 02, 2019
Tuesday, October 01, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019

SPRINGFIELD — Illinois’ chief fiscal officer has a “clear duty” to pay lost wages to all members of the General Assembly affected by two statutes a Cook County judge ruled were unconstitutional, the attorney for two former Democratic state senators wrote in a court filing. Read more

Despite a new report that showed the state’s casinos generated less revenue and had 6 percent fewer visitors than the year before, one state senator said he’s ready for more gambling options to go live in Illinois. Read more

Saturday, September 14, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019

Replica of the print edition optimized for your computer, tablet or phone.
Search the whole paper, including ads! You can even print it, if you'd like.

Log in to the eEdition

Or click to view subscription options

 

Sign up for our Newsletters